VA – A Love Affair: The Music Of Ivan Lins (2000/2018)

Posted by Green on June 8, 2018as

320 kbps | 127 MB | LINKS

Telarc Records recently put out a compilation disc honoring the Brazilian songwriter Ivan Lins. Titled A Love Affair, it features some of America’s biggest pop and jazz names, including Sting, Dianne Reeves, Vanessa Williams, and Chaka Khan. Producing and directing the affair is keyboardist Jason Miles, the brains behind Telarc’s recent Weather Report tribute. While the record, and Lins’s music generally, tends toward “smooth jazz” at times, many of the tracks grab you with their irresistible melodic lilt and harmonic movement. Vanessa Williams’s version of “Love Dance” is a knockout, and Dianne Reeves’s delectable “Sweet Presence” is also a keeper. Lins has a gift; that much is undeniable.


01. Sting – She Walks This Earth
02. Vanessa Williams – Love Dance
03. Grover Washington, Jr. – Camaleao
04. New York Voices – Answered Prayers (E De Deus)
05. Chaka Khan – So Crazy For This Love (Cru-Cre Corroro)
06. Lisa Fischer & James ‘D Train’ Williams – You Moved Me To This
07. Brenda Russell – Nocturne (Noturna)
08. Peter White – Elis (Leva E Traz)
09. Freddy Cole – I’m Not Alone (Anjo De Mim)
10. Dianne Reeves – Sweet Presence (Doce Precensa)
11. Ivan Lins – Somos Todos Iquais Nesta Noite

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *