The Muffs – Really Really Happy (2022)

Posted by Green on May 13, 2022
in rock

320 / FLAC

“Really Really Happy is the album that kicks off the second phase of The Muffs career.” So begins Roy McDonald’s liner notes for the expanded reissue of the band’s fifth album. After eight years and four albums, The Muffs had written, recorded, and toured non-stop. After a break, the group was ready to do it all again, and was approached by friends (and sisters in law) Charlotte Caffey (Go-Go’s) and Anna Waronker (that dog), who had just started their own label – Five Foot Two Records. McDonald, bassist Ronnie Barnett, and singer/guitarist/songwriter Kim Shattuck had a new home, and were ready to do it all again.

Really Really Happy arrived in 2004 to rave reviews. Now, nearly two decades later, it returns as an expanded double-CD / Digital release with 22 bonus tracks, including 16 of Kim Shattuck’s original demos for the album. The original 17 tracks are also available on LP.

The demo recordings on Disc 2 of the CD are available separately as New Improved Kim Shattuck Demos.

In addition to McDonald’s liner notes, the packaging also features pieces from Barnett, Caffey, Waronker, and Shattuck’s husband Kevin Sutherland, plus photos and a new layout.

Barnett’s notes begin “Dear Kim, This is the first project we’ve put together since you went away and I can’t say it’s been easy. The task of what, if any, extra stuff to include with this reissue was daunting but you, still ever present and in your own indomitable way, somehow ended up making it easy.”

Are we glad they did it? We’re really, really happy they did.


1. Freak Out (2:03)
2. A Little Luxury (2:17)
3. Really Really Happy (2:55)
4. Something Inside (2:03)
5. Everybody Loves You (2:12)
6. Don’t Pick on Me (2:39)
7. And I Go Pow (2:40)
8. My Lucky Day (3:03)
9. Fancy Girl (2:41)
10. How I Pass the Time (2:35)
11. Slow (2:27)
12. I’m Here I’m Not (2:04)
13. The Whole World (3:24)
14. My Awful Dream (2:47)
15. By My Side (2:14)
16. Oh Poor You (1:34)
17. The Story of Me (3:09)
18. My Whore (Bonus Track) (1:56)
19. Uh Oh (Bonus Track) (2:07)
20. Under in the Covers in Jammies (Bonus Track) (2:35)
21. My Imagination (Bonus Track) (0:35)
22. Just the Beginning (Bonus Track) (2:54)
23. I Hate Gym (Bonus Track) (1:25)
24. Really Really Happy (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:59)
25. Freak out (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:08)
26. Everybody Loves You (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:12)
27. Something Inside (Demo) [Bonus Track] (1:58)
28. And I Go Pow (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:35)
29. Don’t Pick on Me (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:38)
30. The Story of Me (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:22)
31. A Little Luxury (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:18)
32. By My Side (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:18)
33. Fancy Girl (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:49)
34. How I Pass the Time (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:10)
35. I’m Here I’m Not (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:05)
36. Even Now (Demo) [Bonus Track] (3:04)
37. Slow (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:22)
38. My Lucky Day (Demo) [Bonus Track] (2:22)
39. Oh Poor You (Demo) [Bonus Track] (1:29)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *