The Flatlanders – Treasure of Love (2021)

Posted by Green on July 8, 2021as

320 kbps | LINKS

Texas country/folk supergroup The Flatlanders-featuring Joe Ely, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, and Butch Hancock-will return on July 9th with their first new studio album in 12 years, Treasure of Love, their first release with Thirty Tigers. Remarkably, the band started recording the album several years ago at Joe Ely’s Spur Studios in Austin, TX, but the album remained unfinished until the pandemic sidelined the three singer/songwriter/guitarists’ solo touring careers. They then decided to revisit the recordings with longtime collaborator and legendary Texas country producer and multi-instrumentalist Lloyd Maines, with co-producer Sharon Ely, to flesh out the album into a full band production that features several new original compositions in addition to a wide ranging selection of classics from the American songbook including Bob Dylan’s “She Belongs To Me,” George Jones’s “Treasure of Love,” Townes Van Zandt’s “Snowin’ on Raton,” and perhaps the band’s most notable live show closer “Sittin’ on Top of the World.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *