The Doobie Brothers – Southbound (2014)

Posted by on November 4, 2014as

mp3 320 kbps | 111 MB | UL |

Due November 4th, Southbound mixes the reverence of a tribute album with the back-and-forth collaboration of a duets record, as the Doobies share vocals and trade instrumental duties on 12 new recordings of their own hits. Along with the cover art — a portrait of an empty bar illuminated by a jukebox, presumably stocked with Doobie Brothers hits — the album’s premise is straightforward. Each country artist takes the reins for one song, sharing vocal leads with either Tom Johnston, Michael McDonald or Patrick Simmons — the Doobie Brothers’ three frontmen, performing on the same album for the first time since 1976’s Takin’ It to the Streets — while an all-star session band kicks up plenty of twang, dust and old-school guitar riffage in the background. Joining that backup band are Vince Gill and Hunter Hayes, who perform one song apiece as guitar slingers rather than vocalists.


01. Black Water (with Zac Brown Band)
02. Listen to the Music (with Blake Shelton & Hunter Hayes)
03. What a Fool Believes (with Sara Evans)
04. Long Train Runnin’ (with Toby Keith and Huey Lewis)
05. China Grove (with Chris Young)
06. Takin’ It to the Streets (with Love and Theft)
07. Jesus Is Just Alright (with Casey James)
08. Rockin’ Down the Highway (with Brad Paisley)
09. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me) [with Tyler Farr]
10. South City Midnight Lady (with Jerrod Niemann)
11. You Belong to Me (with Amanda Sudano Ramirez and Vince Gill)
12. Nobody Intro
13. Nobody (with Charlie Worsham)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *