The Clash – Combat Rock + The People’s Hall (2022)

Posted by Green on May 19, 2022
in rock

320 / FLAC

Originally released in May 1982, ‘Combat Rock’ is the final album from The Clash of Joe Strummer, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon and Topper Headon. Featuring two of the band’s most well-known songs, ‘Should I Stay Or Should I Go’ and ‘Rock The Casbah’. Now re-released as a 2CD special edition, with an additional 12-tracks compiled by The Clash.
Having returned to London following their pivotal 17-show residency at New York’s Bond’s Casino in 1981, the band rehearsed and recorded at The People’s Hall in the squatted Republic of Frestonia near Latimer Road in London and from there they embarked on a tour of the East and South East Asia, during which the album sleeve image was captured by Pennie Smith in Thailand.

The tracks on ‘The People’s Hall’ chart the period from what was their last single Radio Clash right up to the release of Combat Rock, including unheard, rare and early versions of tracks.

1. Know Your Rights (Remastered) (3:40)
2. Car Jamming (Remastered) (4:00)
3. Should I Stay or Should I Go (Remastered) (3:09)
4. Rock the Casbah (Remastered) (3:42)
5. Red Angel Dragnet (Remastered) (3:45)
6. Straight to Hell (Remastered) (5:30)
7. Overpowered by Funk (Remastered) (4:52)
8. Atom Tan (Remastered) (2:30)
9. Sean Flynn (Remastered) (4:31)
10. Ghetto Defendant (Remastered) (4:43)
11. Inoculated City (Remastered) (2:41)
12. Death is a Star (Remastered) (3:15)

1. Outside Bonds (4:21)
2. This is Radio Clash (Different Lyrics) (4:11)
3. Futura 2000 (5:55)
4. First Night Back in London (2:12)
5. Radio One (6:18)
6. He Who Dares or Is Tired (2:53)
7. Long Time Jerk (5:10)
8. The Fulham Connection (Outtake) (3:45)
9. Midnight to Stevens (Outtake) (4:36)
10. Sean Flynn (Extended ‘Marcus Music’ Version) (7:23)
11. Idle in Kangaroo Court (5:04)
12. Know Your Rights (3:22)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *