Soft Machine – Live at the Baked Potato (2020)

Posted by Green on May 30, 2020as


The follow-up to Soft Machine’s highly acclaimed 2018 album Hidden Details, their first studio album in 37 years. In support of this, John Etheridge (electric guitar), Roy Babbington (bass guitar), John Marshall (drums) and Theo Travis (saxophones, flute, Fender Rhodes piano) toured the world during 2018 and 2019. This live album was recorded during this extensive tour, at the Baked Potato, Los Angeles, USA on 1st February 2019 and is released as a CD on Dyad Records. The material mixes tunes from the Hidden Details album, some older material (newly recorded by this line-up) and their trademark improvisations. The band, with a world tour under their belt and a partisan crowd urging them on, are absolutely at the top of their game – powerful, committed and idiosyncratic. A really exciting release.

THEO TRAVIS – sax, flute, Fender Rhodes electric piano
ROY BABBINGTON – bass guitar


01. Out-Bloody-Intro (02:30)
02. Out-Bloody-Rageous, Part 1 (05:28)
03. Sideburn (02:18)
04. Hazard Profile, Part 1 (06:29)
05. Kings And Queens (04:36)
06. The Tale Of Taliesin (06:19)
07. Heart Off Guard (02:16)
08. Broken Hill (03:44)
09. Fourteen Hour Dream (06:25)
10. The Man Who Waved At Trains (05:12)
11. Life On Bridges (07:00)
12. Hidden Details (07:03)

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *