Magazine – The Complete John Peel Sessions (2008)

Posted by Green on May 7, 2020as

320 kbps | 131 MB | LINKS

Virgin issued the contents of this set, in the same order, as the third disc of the three-disc Maybe It’s Right to Be Nervous Now, a Magazine box set released in 2000. Once again, here are the band’s four sessions for John Peel’s BBC program: February 14, 1978 (just prior to the recording of Real Life); July 24, 1978 (three months after Real Life’s release); May 8, 1979 (just after the release of Secondhand Daylight); and January 7, 1980 (prior to the recording of Magic, Murder and the Weather). Had Virgin not kept the single-disc Where the Power Is in print, this would be a decent introduction to the band, as it features some of their best material in addition to a slowed, seething take on Buzzcocks’ Devoto-era “Boredom” in vigorous condition.


01. Touch And Go
02. The Light Pours Out Of Me
03. Real Life (Definitive Gaze)
04. My Mind Ain’t So Open
05. Give Me Everything
06. Burst
07. I Love You You Big Dummy
08. Boredom
09. TV Baby
10. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) (Peel Session)
11. Permafrost
12. A Song From Under The Floorboards
13. Twenty Years Ago
14. Look What Fear’s Done To My Body (Because You’re Frightened)
15. Model Worker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *