Levon Helm – Electric Dirt (2009)

Posted by Green on March 23, 2020as


Mark Lavon “Levon” Helm (May 26, 1940 – April 19, 2012) was an American musician and actor who achieved fame as the drummer and one of the vocalists for The Band. Helm was known for his deeply soulful, country-accented voice, multi-instrumental ability, and creative drumming style, highlighted on many of The Band’s recordings, such as “The Weight”, “Up on Cripple Creek”, and “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down”.

Levon Helm – Drums, Mandolin, Vocals
Amy Helm – Guitar, Mandolin, Vocals
Teresa Williams – Autoharp, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals
Larry Campbell – Dulcimer, Fiddle, Acoustic, Electric Guitar, Horn Arrangements, Mandolin, Vocals
Jay Collins – Tenor Sax, Vocals
Clark Gayton – Trombone, Tuba
Byron Isaacs – Bass, Vocals
Howard Johnson – Tuba
Erik Lawrence – Soprano, Baritone Sax
Brian Mitchell – Accordion, Harmonium, Organ, Piano
George Recile – Vocals
Catherine Russell – Vocals
Allen Toussaint – Horn Arrangements


1. Tennessee Jed (Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter) – 5:58
2. Move Along Train (Roebuck Staples) – 3:22
3. Growing Trade (Levon Helm, Larry Campbell) – 4.22
4. Golden Bird (Happy Traum) – 5:11
5. Stuff You Gotta Watch (Muddy Waters) – 3:38
6. White Dove (Carter Stanley) – 3:29
7. Kingfish (Randy Newman) – 4:24
8. You Can’t Lose What You Ain’t Never Had (Muddy Waters) – 4:01
9. When I Go Away (Larry Campbell) – 4:32
10. Heaven’s Pearls (Anthony Leone, Byron Isaacs, Fiona McBain, Amy Helm, Glenn Patscha) – 4:09
11. I Wish I Knew How it Would Feel To Be Free (Richard Carroll Lamp, Willy E. Taylor) – 3:25

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *