Kirsty MacColl – Days (1988 – 1991) (2018)

Posted by Green on June 3, 2020as

320 kbps | 523 MB | LINKS

Kirsty MacColl (b.October 10, 1959, Croydon, South London, UK – d.December 19, 2000 in Cozumel, Mexico) was an English singer-songwriter. The daughter of folk singer Ewan MacColl and dancer Jean Newlove; sister of Hamish MacColl and half-sister to Kitty MacColl, Neill MacColl and Calum MacColl (of Liberty Horses).

After a brief stint in 1978 with her first band The Drug Addix, she went solo and scored a big hit with the single “There’s a Guy Works Down the Chip Shop Swears He’s Elvis” in 1981. In 1984, she married producer Steve Lillywhite, and had two children Jamie MacColl and Louis MacColl. She decided to concentrate less on her music and raise her children by solely performing back-up vocals on various projects. In 1987, one of her contributions was the Christmas hit with The Pogues “Fairytale of New York”. She later came back in 1989 to record the “Kite” album.
In 1991, she put out her “Electric Landlady” album which provided her with the very big hit “Walking Down Madison”. A few years later in 1993, “Titanic Days” was released.

Kirsty died in Cozumel, Mexico after being hit by a speedboat which had crossed into an area restricted to swimmers only. Her final recording “Tropical Brainstorm” was released in the UK shortly before her death in 2000; videos of some promotional appearances are available on YouTube. The US release was posthumous, in early 2001.

CD 1 – Kite:
01. Innocence
02. Free World
03. Mother’s Ruin
04. Days
05. No Victims
06. Fifteen Minutes
07. Don’t Come The Cowboy With Me, Sonny Jim!
08. Tread Lightly
09. What Do Pretty Girls Do
10. Dancing In Limbo1
11. The End Of A Perfect Day
12. You And Me Baby

CD 2 – B-Sides And Remixes:
01. You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet, Baby
02. Closer To God
03. La For�t De Mimosas
04. The End Of A Perfect Day (Original Demo Version)
05. Please Help Me, I’m Falling
06. Still Life
07. Happy
08. El Paso
09. Innocence (7” Remix)
10. No Victims (Guitar Heroes Mix)
11. Innocence (The Guilt Mix)
12. Clubland
13. Don’t Run Away From Me Now
14. Other People’s Hearts
15. Complainte Pour Ste Catherine
16. Am I Right
17. You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet, Baby (She’s Having A Baby Soundtrack Version)

CD 3 – Electric Landlady:
01. Walking Down Madison
02. All I Ever Wanted
03. Children Of The Revolution
04. Halloween
05. My Affair
06. Lying Down
07. He Never Mentioned Love
08. We’ll Never Pass This Way Again
09. The Hardest Word
10. Maybe It’s Imaginary
11. My Way Home
12. The One And Only

CD 4 – Remixes And B-Sides:
01. Walking Down Madison (7” Mix)
02. Walking Down Madison (Urban Mix)
03. Walking Down Madison (Ye Olde Originale Mix)
04. Walking Down Madison (Extended Urban Mix)
05. Walking Down Madison (Club Mix)
06. Walking Down Madison (6am Ambient Mix)
07. One Good Thing
08. Darling Let’s Have Another Baby (With Billy Bragg)
09. The Hardest Word (Alternate Take 3)
10. My Affair (Ladbroke Groove Mix)
11. My Affair (Bass Sexy Mix)
12. My Affair (Olive Groove Mix)
13. My Affair (Single Edit)
14. All The Tears That I Cried
15. Don’t Go Near The Water
16. All I Ever Wanted (Re-Recorded Single Version)

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *