Jethro Tull – Catfish Rising (1991,Japan 1st Press)

Posted by Green on March 10, 2020as


Jethro Tull’s best album of the 1990s, a surging, hard-rocking monster (at least, compared to anything immediately before or since) that doesn’t lose sight of good tunes or the folk sources that have served this band well. The lineup this time out is Anderson on acoustic and electric guitars, flute, and electric and acoustic mandolins, Martin Barre on electric guitar, Doane Perry on drums, Dave Pegg on bass, and Andrew Giddings on keyboards. The real difference between this and most of the group’s output since the end of the ’70s lies in the songs, all of which are approached with serious energy and enthusiasm; the lyrics are completely forgettable, but for the first time since War Child, the band sounds like they’re playing as though their lives depended on it. “Sparrow on the Schoolyard Wall” is at least as good a song as “Bungle in the Jungle” or “Skating Away on the Thin Ice of a New Day,” and while that ain’t exactly “My God,” it’s still better than most other contemporaneous Tull albums have done. “Still Loving You Tonight” and “Sleeping with the Dog” recall the group’s blues roots, albeit not quite in bluesy enough fashion. There’s still some dross, as there would almost have to be on an hour-long album, but overall, this is the group’s best album since the end of the ’70s.


01. This Is Not Love [0:03:57.50]
02. Occasional Demons [0:03:49.57]
03. Roll Yer Own [0:04:26.15]
04. Rocks On The Road [0:05:32.30]
05. Sparrow On The Schoolyard Wall [0:05:22.70]
06. Thinking Round Corners [0:03:32.38]
07. Still Loving You Tonight [0:04:32.12]
08. Doctor To My Disease [0:04:35.08]
09. Like A Tall Thin Girl [0:03:38.17]
10. White Innocence [0:07:44.43]
11. Sleeping With The Dog [0:04:26.15]
12. Gold-Tipped Boots, Black Jacket And Tie [0:03:41.22]
13. When Jesus Came To Play [0:05:05.63]
14. Night In The Wilderness [0:04:04.05]

Ian Anderson – vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, acoustic and electric mandolins, flute, percussion, keyboards, drums
Martin Barre – electric guitar
Dave Pegg – electric and acoustic bass guitars
Doane Perry – drums

Additional personnel:
Andy Giddings – keyboards on tracks one, four and eight
Foss Patterson – keyboards on track 10
John Bundrick – keyboards on track 11
Matt Pegg – bass on tracks one, four and seven
Scott Hunter – drums on track 5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *