Jerry Lee Lewis – I-40 Country / Odd Man In (1973-75,Reissue 2015)

Posted by Green on January 2, 2020as


BGO’s 2015 two-fer pairs two mid-’70s albums from Jerry Lee Lewis – 1974’s I-40 Country and 1975’s Odd Man In – on a single CD. Jerry Lee Lewis didn’t get much of a boost out of his 1973 return to rock & roll – a revival arriving on two separate LPs, one recorded in England (The Session) and one back home (Southern Roots) – so he slid back to country, scoring a hit with “Sometimes a Memory Ain’t Enough” from the album of the same name. I-40 Country arrived a year later, easing into stores in 1974 under the guise of a truck-driving country LP. While these 11 songs do sound good on the open road, none of them are about big rigs or highways, nor do they roll along to a Bakersfield beat. No, they’re straight-ahead barroom weepers punctuated by the very occasional novelty – so occasional, it doesn’t extend beyond “Alcohol of Fame.”


I-40 Country (1973):
01. He Can’t Fill My Shoes (2:36)
02. Tell Tale Signs (2:28)
03. A Picture From Life’s Other Side (3:43)
04. I Hate Goodbyes (2:34)
05. I’ve Forgot More About You (Than He’ll Ever Know) (3:06)
06. Tomorrow’s Taking Baby Away (3:20)
07. Cold, Cold Morning Light (3:10)
08. The Alcohol Of Fame (2:30)
09. Where Would I Be (3:04)
10. Bluer Words (2:20)
11. Room Full Of Roses (2:37)

Odd Man In (1975):
12. Don’t Boogie Woogie (When You Say Your Prayers Tonight) (2:37)
13. Shake, Rattle And Roll (2:57)
14. You Ought To See My Mind (2:25)
15. I Don’t Want To Be Lonely Tonight (3:16)
16. That Kind Of Fool (2:28)
17. Goodnight Irene (3:44)
18. A Damn Good Country Song (2:08)
19. Jerry’s Place (2:34)
20. When I Take My Vacation In Heaven (3:08)
21. Crawdad Song (3:10)
22. Your Cheatin’ Heart (2:46)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *