Matt Carmichael – Marram (2022)

Posted by gregg on October 29, 2022
in jazz

320 kbps


1. The Far Away Ones (6:27)
2. Dune (3:13)
3. Road To The Sea (1:29)
4. Waves (6:24)
5. Marram (4:48)
6. Horizon (9:58)
7. There Will Be Better Days (4:18)
8. On The Gloaming Shore, Pt. 1 (2:28)
9. On The Gloaming Shore, Pt. 2 (7:10)

Marram is the second album from Scottish saxophonist and composer Matt Carmichael, perfectly blending his favourite aspects from both jazz and folk. The record follows on from his extraordinary self-released debut ‘Where Will The River Flow’, which was picked up throughout the UK and Europe, gaining over 2 million streams and building him a reputation as a rising star and ‘distinctive new voice,’ as described by BBC Music Magazine. Marram is a vital and emotive album that encapsulates the openness and emotiveness of the Scottish coastal landscape. Based in Glasgow, Matt Carmichael is a part of the flourishing Scottish jazz scene, and has already won over a fanbase across Europe with the success of ‘Where Will The River Flow.’ In 2021 it prompted an invitation from GRAMMY Award-winning WDR Big Band to be a guest soloist performing Bob Mintzer’s arrangements of Matt’s music. With Marram, released on Edition Records, Matt has crafted an identity and compositional voice that will launch him onto the international scene.

Matt Carmichael – Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Stewart – Fiddle
Fergus McCreadie – Piano
Ali Watson – Double Bass
Tom Potter – Drums

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *