Bill Laurance – Affinity (2022)

Posted by gregg on October 21, 2022
in jazz

320 kbps


1. Pillars (4:22)
2. Storm (3:59)
3. Everything Exists (4:32)
4. Affinity (3:34)
5. In Good Faith (5:20)
6. Sirens (2:56)
7. House of the Rising Sun (5:38)
8. Peace Piece (7:47)
9. A Child is Born (4:51)
10. Home (4:11)

Beautiful! Melodic! Chill out… Relaxation! Stylistically diverging from his previous solo material, Affinity centres around the constant in Bill’s diverse musical career; the piano. With previous records touching on electronic music, a solo piano record was something Bill had considered for a long time, “I’ve wanted to do a solo piano album for as long as I can remember. To perform solo, represents musical freedom in its purest form and there is no other setting where I feel more at home. My last studio album Cables was originally intended to be a solo piano album, but quickly morphed into something quite different involving an endless array of synthesisers and guitar pedals. This time I was determined to celebrate the instrument in all its glory, by itself.”

“Affinity reveals Laurance’s poetic melodicism at its finest” (Mike Flynn, Editor, Jazzwise)

Bill Laurance, piano, keyboards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *