Taurey Butler – One of the Others (2022)

Posted by gregg on October 8, 2022
in jazz

320 kbps


1. One Of The Others (07:29)
2. Artis’ Truth (06:12)
3. Swappin’ Lies (02:40)
4. On The Natch (04:27)
5. Smile (07:13)
6. Nut Fog (03:49)
7. Sisyphean Task (04:30)
8. What Is This Thing Called Love (04:46)
9. Can’t Buy Me Love (04:02)
10. Laini’s Love (05:03)
11. I Can Only Be Me (06:23)

The sophomore recording from East Orange Native, Montreal based jazz pianist Taurey Butler has been a long time coming, and well worth the wait. His debut eponymous release was hailed as one of the best debut jazz albums of the year and firmly established his signature artistry. He returns with ‘One Of The Others’ a colorful dynamic expression of self, individuality and uniqueness, presented throughout about being an outsider in a new and strange, but immediately, not so strange land. It is the challenges of seeing the familiar in what looks familiar but is, at once, very different, and how that all saw resolution for Taurey over time and through a richness of life touching experiences.Each selection is a chapter in the story. Along with Morgan Moore (bass) and Wali Muhammad (drums) Butler tell us his story through the eleven tracks on the album, some authored and some re-imagined. A phenomenal player of the highest caliber, he is also a gifted composer and arranger, seven of the tracks are originals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *