Janis Joplin With Big Brother And The Holding Company – Live At Winterland ’68 (1998)

Posted by Green on March 31, 2021as


Live at Winterland ’68 is an album by Janis Joplin with her band Big Brother and the Holding Company. It was recorded at the Winterland Ballroom on April 12 and 13, 1968, and includes live renditions of songs from their studio albums.

After a successful tour of the East Coast of the United States, with B. B. King, Albert King, and others, Big Brother returned to San Francisco, where this album was recorded. Lengthier renditions of their songs, such as “Light Is Faster Than Sound” extending over 7 minutes, are included.


01. Down On Me
02. Flower In the Sun
03. I Need a Man to Love
04. Bye, Bye Baby
05. Easy Rider
06. Combination of the Two
07. Farewell Song
08. Piece of My Heart
09. Catch Me Daddy
10. Magic of Love
11. Summertime
12. Light Is Faster Than Sound
13. Ball and Chain
14. Down On Me (Second Version)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *