Iggy And The Stooges – Telluric Chaos (2005)

Posted by Green on June 18, 2019as


When the Stooges reunited for a handful of live dates in the summer of 2003, fans wondered if this was only a brief fling, or something a bit more substantial. To the delight of fans, Iggy and the Ashetons decided to take it to the stage throughout the world — playing subsequent shows over the next year in Europe and Japan. 2005’s Telluric Chaos chronicles a Stooges show from early 2004 in Japan (as with all the shows from this period, Iggy and the Ashetons are joined by former Minutemen bassist Mike Watt and Fun House sax blower Steve MacKay). Anyone lucky enough to catch the group around this time can attest that the group never sounded better, and Iggy never screamed/performed as well as here, especially on such standouts as “1970,” “TV Eye,” and two readings of “I Wanna Be Your Dog.” Except for only a handful of songs, almost all the tracks from both of the Stooges’ classic releases, 1969’s Stooges and 1970’s aforementioned Fun House are represented, as well as a few of the “Stooges tracks” from Iggy’s 2003 solo outing Skull Ring. Additionally, you get a brand-new/previously unreleased Stooges tune, “Idea of Fun,” as well. Full of energy and boasting very good sonics, Telluric Chaos is easily one of the best Stooges live albums to ever surface.

1 Loose 3:56
2 Down On The Street 4:23
3 1969 3:40
4 I Wanna Be Your Dog 5:37
5 TV Eyes 5:11
6 Dirt 3:52
7 Real Cool Time 3:08
8 No Fun 4:12
9 1970 6:14
10 Fun House 7:19
11 Skull Ring 5:07
12 Rock Star 4:18
13 Electric Chair (Encore) 5:16
14 Little Doll 5:07
15 Idea Of Fun 5:04
16 I Wanna Be Your Dog 3:50
17 Not Right 3:07

Iggy Pop – vocals
Ron Asheton – electric guitar
Scott Asheton – drums

Mike Watt – bass guitar
Steve Mackay – saxophone

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *