Elton John – Rare Masters (1992/2019)

Posted by Green on November 22, 2020
in pop, rock

320 kbps | LINKS

At the time Rare Masters was released in 1992, most of the selections on this 37-track double-disc compilation were indeed rare. They were issued on non-LP singles, B-sides, the Friends soundtrack, one-offs; some were buried on album tracks, and some even stayed in the vault. Since then, Elton John’s catalog has been remastered and reissued, with much of the best of this material appearing as bonus tracks, but the album still was worthwhile, since it not only has some songs that never appeared elsewhere on disc (such as “Step Into Christmas”‘ B-side, “(Ho Ho Ho) Who’d Be a Turkey at Christmas”), but it also is a hell of a listen in its own right, showcasing great songs and forgotten gems from John’s prime period. There aren’t too many hits here, but the quality is startlingly high and consistent, showcasing John and Taupin’s partnership at its peak — though they might not have hit the charts, “Bad Side of the Moon,” “Rock & Roll Madonna,” “Into the Old Man’s Shoes,” “Whenever You’re Ready (We’ll Go Steady Again),” “Screw You (Young Man’s Blues),” and the radio staple “Madman Across the Water,” plus “Grey Seal” (later re-recorded for Goodbye Yellow Brick Road) are among the finest songs of the era, and they’re the linchpins on a rarities collection, not a proper album. It doesn’t quite keep that same high level throughout, largely due to the pleasant but forgettable instrumentals from Friends, but it’s still an essential part of any Elton John collection.


01. I’ve Been Loving You
02. Here’s To The Next Time
03. Lady Samantha
04. All Across The Havens
05. It’s Me That You Need
06. Just Like Strange Rain
07. Bad Side Of The Moon
08. Rock And Roll Madonna
09. Grey Seal
10. Friends
11. Michelle’s Song
12. Seasons
13. Variation On Michelle’s Song (A Day In The Country)
14. Can I Put You On
15. Honey Roll
16. Variation On Friends
17. I Meant To Do My Work Today (A Day In The Country)
18. Four Moods
19. Seasons Reprise


01. Madman Across The Water
02. Into The Old Man’s Shoes
03. Rock Me When He’s Gone
04. Slave
05. Skyline Pigeon
06. Jack Rabbit
07. Whenever You’re Ready (We’ll Go Steady Again)
08. Let Me Be Your Car
09. Screw You (Young Man’s Blues)
10. Step Into Christmas
11. Ho, Ho, Ho, Who’d Be A Turkey At Christmas
12. Sick City
13. Cold Highway
14. One Day At A Time
15. I Saw Her Standing There
16. House Of Cards
17. Planes
18. Sugar On The Floor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *