Cowboy Junkies – Best of Cowboy Junkies (1988-1993) (2001)

Posted by Green on November 24, 2021as


Cowboy Junkies fabricate music that is emotive, somnolent and infused with a somber, country-tinged sweetness and angst. The purveyors of this unique musical amalgamation are a quartet of Canadians, featuring the synergy of the brothers-and-sister team of Margo (vocals), Peter (drums) and Michael Timmins (guitar), completed by non-related bassist Alan Anton. Margo’s appealingly languid vocals and the band’s penchant for achingly reworked songs, including Lou Reed’s “Sweet Jane” and Patsy Cline’s “Walking After Midnight,” have earned Cowboy Junkies a loyal core of fans, plus loads of critical kudos.


01. Blue Moon Revisted (A Song for Elvis)
02. Sweet Jane
03. Misguided Angel
04. I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry
05. Rock And Bird
06. Sun Comes Up, It’s Tuesday Morning
07. Escape Is So Simple
08. ‘Cause Cheap Is How I Feel
09. To Live Is To Fly
10. Murder, Tonight, In The Trailer Park
11. Southern Rain
12. Cowboy Junkies Lament
13. Anniversary Song
14. Cold Tea Blues
15. Ring On The Sill
16. Hard To Explain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *