Chris Eckman – Where The Spirit Rests (2021)

Posted by Green on June 3, 2021as

320 kbps | LINKS

The fifth solo album from Chris Eckman (The Walkabouts, Dirtmusic, Distance, Light & Sky) is a deep dive into the vagaries of extraordinary times. Eckman’s luminous songwriting navigates loss, disorientation, redemption and the search for home. Recorded raw and direct with a small ensemble, the record is framed by expansive sonic textures: treated strings, analogue synth drones and ambient guitars. Where the Spirit Rests was co-produced with British electronic composer Alastair McNeill (Roísín Murphy, Yila) and includes an inspired cast of collaborators: pedal steel maverick Chuck Johnson, avant-garde violinist Catherine Graindorge, Dream Syndicate/Green on Red keyboardist Chris Cacavas, Seattle pedal steelist Jon Hyde (Karl Blau, Laura Viers) and Eckman’s long time Ljubljana-based rhythm section of Žiga Golob (upright bass) and Blaž Celarec (drums).

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *