Booker T. & The M.G.’s – In the Christmas Spirit [Reissue Limited EditionBarnes & Noble Exclusive] (1966/2021)

Posted by Green on January 21, 2022as

320 | FLAC

Booker T. & the MG’s — the heart, soul and pulse of Stax Records — cut their incredible holiday album, In the Christmas Spirit in mid-1966. With their unique, soulful groove, Jones, Cropper, Dunn and Jackson interpret 12 holiday classics, infusing each and every track with funk, taste and style. Just listen to that chiming organ, that pulsing bass, that ringing guitar–and is that 12 drummers drumming? No, it’s just Al Jackson, the man with a beat so big that the elves can hear it all the up in the North Pole! To guarantee the funkiest Christmas ever, make sure that you keep In the Christmas Spirit by your side throughout the Yuletide.

This labor of love from Sundazed Music is sourced from the original analog (and fruitcake free!) Stax Records masters, pressed on vinyl pure as the driven snow, wrapped in the festive original artwork and hung by the chimney with care. Wait, the chimney?!?! Oh, no, the fire’s still burning–quick, throw some eggnog on it!!!

“There’s no reason to believe the little drummer boy didn’t break into a danceable groove every now and again–and no cause to think that Christmas music has to be listened to from an easy chair. This legendary rhythm & blues combo spreads the spirit of the season in much the same way it did its many chart- toppers–with a greasy backbeat and a heaping helping of cool keyboards courtesy of Booker T himself. Originally issued in 1966, this disc lets the MGs strut through deftly arranged versions of Christmas standards like “Winter Wonderland” and “Silver Bells” with sass, class, and more than enough panache to keep it on your system through the New Year.” -David Sprague


A1 Jingle Bells 2:32
A2 Santa Claus Is Coming To Town 2:25
A3 Winter Wonderland 2:05
A4 White Christmas 2:59
A5 The Christmas Song 3:15
A6 Silver Bells 2:28
B1 Merry Christmas Baby 3:10
B2 Blue Christmas 3:06
B3 Sweet Little Jesus Boy 2:47
B4 Silent Night 3:17
B5 We Three Kings 2:30
B6 We Wish You A Merry Christmas 2:30

Bass – Donald “Duck” Dunn
Drums – Al Jackson Jr.
Guitar – Steve Cropper
Organ – Booker T. Jones

Limited to 2000 pressings


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *