Etta James

All posts tagged Etta James


01. My Dearest Darling 03:04
02. I’ll Dry My Tears 02:43
03. Anything To Say You’re Mine 02:37
04. A Sunday Kind Of Love 03:18
05. Girl Of My Dreams 02:24
06. In My Diary 02:36
07. All I Could Do Was Cry 02:58
08. Spoonful 02:49
09. Stormy Weather 03:10
10. Seven Day Fools 03:02
11. Plum Nuts 03:05
12. I Just Want To Make Love To You 03:08
13. Trust In Me 03:00
14. At Last 03:02
15. Tough Mary 02:26

mp3 320 kbps | 99 MB | UL | CL

ettaReleased in 1976, when Etta James wasn’t ruling the charts by any means but wasn’t adverse to the idea of climbing back into the Top 40, Etta Is Bettah Than Evvah! bears a boastful title and its ten funky cuts do not lack for bravado. Nevertheless, it’s very difficult to agree that Etta is better than ever here.

mp3 320kbps | 197 MB | UL

Few female R&B stars enjoyed the kind of consistent acclaim Etta James received throughout a career that spanned six decades; the celebrated producer Jerry Wexler once called her “the greatest of all modern blues singers,” and she recorded a number of enduring hits, including “At Last,” “Tell Mama,” “I’d Rather Go Blind,” and “All I Could Do Was Cry.” At the same time, despite possessing one of the most powerful voices in music, James only belatedly gained the attention of the mainstream audience, appearing rarely on the pop charts despite scoring 30 R&B hits, and she lived a rough-and-tumble life that could have inspired a dozen soap operas, battling drug addiction and bad relationships while outrunning a variety of health and legal problems.

mp3 VBR~234 kbps | 554 MB | DF

This is the second in our series of CD reissues of Etta James’ Chess albums.Recorded in Los Angeles with renowned arranger Gene Barge and veteran producer Ralph Bass at the controls, the original 11-track album is bolstered with a generous 11 bonus titles cut variously in Hollywood, Chicago and Philadelphia between 1969 and 1973.Highlights for this cd are the slow Soul of “I Think It’s You” and the cover of the Jackie Edwards nugget “Look At The Rain”. It’s also cool to get 5 tracks off the rare “Funk” album – especially the zippy ‘message’ soul of “Tighten Up Your Own Thing” (lyrics above). The bluesy “Nothing From Nothing Leaves Nothing” is hardly ‘funk’, but it’s a proper Soul gem.

mp3 320 kbps | 176 MB | DF