Van Morrison – Astral Weeks [Expanded & Remastered] (2015)

Posted by Green on June 2, 2018as


Remastered audio, each album also features previously unreleased versions of several album tracks.

Astral Weeks failed to make the charts when it was released in the fall of 1968. But 47 years later, the album has achieved a near-mythic status across generations of listeners who have “ventured in the slipstream” and fallen under the music’s spell. “Any best-of list is unthinkable – and worthless – without it,” writes Cory Frye in the album’s liner notes.

The four unreleased recordings that debut on this deluxe edition highlight the interplay between Morrison and the quartet that joined him in the studio – bassist Richard Davis, guitarist Jay Berliner, percussionist Warren Smith, Jr., and Modern Jazz Quartet drummer Connie Kay. These bonus tracks include the first take of “Beside You,” the full version of “Slim Slow Slider,” and a stripped back version of “Madame George” that emphasizes the vibraphone.

1. Astral Weeks (2015 Remastered)
2. Beside You (2015 Remastered)
3. Sweet Thing (2015 Remastered)
4. Cyprus Avenue (2015 Remastered Version)
5. The Way Young Lovers Do (2015 Remastered)
6. Madame George (2015 Remastered)
7. Ballerina (2015 Remastered)
8. Slim Slow Slider (2015 Remastered)

9. Beside You (Take 1)
10. Madame George (Take 4)
11. Ballerina (Long Version)
12. Slim Slow Slider (Long Version)

Van Morrison — vocals, acoustic guitar
John Payne — flute; soprano saxophone on “Slim Slow Slider”
Jay Berliner — classical and steel-string acoustic guitars
Richard Davis — double bass
Warren Smith, Jr. — percussion, vibraphone
Connie Kay — drums
Larry Fallon — string arrangements and conductor; harpsichord on “Cy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *