VA – Strange Angels In Flight with Elmore James (2018)

Posted by Green on January 14, 2020as


‘Strange Angels: In Flight With Elmore James’ brings together a group of amazing artists to pay tribute to the the legendary Elmore James in this 13 song collection of his classic blues standards. Warren Haynes, Billy Gibbons and Mickey Raphael feature on a rendition of “Mean Mistreatin’ Mama”. Crooner Tom Jones lends his voice to “Done Somebody Wrong”. Keb Mo’ performs “Look On Yonder Wall” and Bettye LaVette sings “Person To Person”. Also featured are Rodney Crowell, Jamey Johnson, and more!

Produced by Marco Giovino (Robert Plant, Tom Jones, Norah Jones), with the help of Executive Producer Tom Siering, ‘Strange Angels’ was recorded in various locations across the country, including studios in Los Angeles, Nashville, Boston, and NYC. Although the musicians vary slightly from track-to-track, a bulk of the recording features house band Elmore’s Latest Broomdusters, comprised of Rick Holmstrom (guitar), Doug Lancio (slide guitar), Rudy Copeland (Hammond B3), Viktor Krauss (bass), Larry Taylor (bass) and Giovino himself (drums).

01. Elayna Boynton – Can’t Stop Loving You 02:16
02. Bettye LaVette – Person to Person 03:18
03. Rodney Crowell – Shake Your Money Maker 02:35
04. Tom Jones – Done Somebody Wrong 03:18
05. Warren Haynes feat. Billy Gibbons & Mickey Raphael – Me 05:58
06. Deborah Bonham – Dust My Broom 03:00
07. Jamey Johnson – It Hurts Me Too 09:10
08. Shelby Lynne & Allison Moorer – Strange Angels 04:02
09. Keb Mo’ – Look on Yonder Wall 03:43
10. Mollie Marriott – My Bleeding Heart 04:08
11. Chuck E. Weiss – Hawaiian Boogie 02:23
12. Addi McDaniel – Dark and Dreary 03:54
13. Elmore’s Latest Broomdusters – Bobby’s Rock 02:21

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *