VA – Cuba: Music and Revolution: Culture Clash in Havana Cuba: Experiments in Latin Music 1973-85 Vol. 2 (2021)

Posted by Green on December 24, 2021as

320 | FLAC

The album comes as a heavyweight 3xLP and deluxe 2xCD set, complete with extensive sleeve notes, and is jam-packed with heavy bass lines, synth and Wah-Wah guitar funk combined with the heavyweight percussion, powerful brass lines and the all-encompassing Latin rhythms of Cuban music known throughout the world.

Much of the music on this album is featured in the deluxe large format book ‘Cuba: Music and Revolution: Original Cover Art of Cuban Music: Record Sleeve Designs of Revolutionary Cuba 1959-90’, released by Soul Jazz Books and also compiled by Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker (Soul Jazz Records), featuring the music and record designs of Cuba, made in the 30-year period following the Cuban Revolution.

The music on this new album features a host of rarities from legendary Cuban artists such as Los Van Van, alongside Grupo De Experimentación, Farah Maria, Ricardo Eddy Martinez, Juan Pablo Torres, Grupo Sintesis and Orquesta Riverside, most of whose names remain largely unknown outside of Cuba but have long been favourite club tracks and secret-weapons in Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker’s record boxes!

The music on this album reflects the most cutting-edge of Cuban groups that were recording in Cuba in the 1970s and 1980s – all searching for a new Cuban identity and new musical forms reflecting both the Afro-Cuban cultural heritage of a nation that gave birth to Latin music – and its new position as a socialist state. Most of the music featured on this album have never been heard outside of Cuba.

01. Juan Pablo Torres Y Algo Nuevo – Y Que Bien (4:24)
02. Orquesta Los Van Van – Por Que Lo Haces (4:10)
03. Los Latinos – Quemando (2:46)
04. Farah María – Amame y No Pienses Mas (4:13)
05. FA 5 – Muevete Con Las Fuerzas Del Corazon (5:53)
06. Tambores De Enrique Bonne – Como Arrullos De Palma (2:47)
07. Ricardo Eddy Martinez – Expreso Ritmico (4:11)
08. Los Papines – Solo De Tumba y Bongo (5:31)
09. Grupo Sintesis – Aqui Estamos (2:31)
10. Los Van Van – Llegada (2:08)
11. Grupo Raices Nuevas – Baila Mi Guaguancó (5:01)

01. Luis Carbonell – La Rumba (3:54)
02. Orquesta Riverside – En Casa Del Trompo No Bailes (3:02)
03. Juan Formel & Los Van Van – Llegue, Llegue (5:51)
04. Grupo Los Yoyi – Tu No Me Puedes Conquistar (3:09)
05. Los Papines – Para Que Niegas? (4:23)
06. Grupo De Experimentación Sonora Del ICAIC – ¡ Cuba Va ! (3:06)
07. Raul Gomez – Luces En La Pista (4:40)
08. Los Brito – El 4-5-6 (2:50)
09. Leo Brouwer – Tema de El Rancheador De La Naturaleza (1:37)
10. Ricardo Eddy Martinez – La 132 (4:23)
11. Los Reyes 73 – Finalizo Un Amor (3:37)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *