The Reaction – Shapes of Things to Come (2018)

Posted by Green on January 5, 2019
in rock

320 kbps | 73 MB | LINKS

For the many fans of 1960s music, we are sure this retrospective album by The Reaction will come as something of a surprise. Very rarely do you come across a band that has managed so successfully to recreate the unique electric 12 string sound of the 60s American West Coast. With seven original well crafted, self penned songs, and four cover versions once performed by the likes of The Yardbirds, The Creation, The Beatles and The Byrds, the new album ‘Shapes of Things To Come’ can sit very confidently along side any other album from that era.

Bristol based The Reaction were formed in the mid 1980s greatly influenced by the music and dress of the 60s, a combination that appealed to many of the Mod Revivalists of the day. With the young Mods enthusiastic support, The Reaction were quickly riding high on a wave of popularity and independent record sales. Everyone that either heard the band or were lucky enough to see their live set, were left with no doubt the band were destined for a brighter future than many of their peers. Even though they managed to gain much coveted Radio 1 airplay from the likes of John Peel and Andy Kershaw, and the backing of the Waterloo Sunset Records, their popularity was never properly harnessed. Within three years they were gone, but not thankfully without leaving behind the tracks that are now available on this album.


  • Neil says:

    Total Time: 30:44
    01. Watching The World Go By (2:58)
    02. Shapes of Things (2:26)
    03. The World Turns Her Way (2:50)
    04. Having Seen Your Face (2:33)
    05. It Was A Long Time Ago (3:10)
    06. I’ve Got To Get Away (2:47)
    07. For All That I Am (2:41)
    08. Surf-Riding (2:58)
    09. Loose Girl (4:00 )
    10. I’ll Feel a Whole Lot Better (2:26)
    11. And Your Bird Can Sing (1:55)

  • Gary Baldi says:

    Thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *