The Ian Lowery Group – King Blank To [30th Anniversary Edition] (1989/2019)

Posted by Green on August 2, 2019as

320 kbps | 164 MB | LINKS

The Arkive celebrates the 30th anniversary of one of 1989’s classic albums with the digital only release of ‘King Blank To..’ by The Ian Lowery Group including B-sides and previously unreleased material.

In 1987, following the break-up of seminal post-punk band Folk Devils, Ian Lowery (previously founder member, frontman and songwriter of The Wall and Ski Patrol) found himself with a recording contract with Beggars Banquet but without a band. King Blank was born. The King Blank moniker was adopted by Lowery as a vehicle for his solo projects but working in collaboration with other musicians. Through earlier Folk Devils associations, Ian had linked up with multi-instrumentalist Nigel Pulsford (later of Bush fame), former Folk Devils guitarist Kris Jozajtis, bassist Hugh Garrety, and drummer Kevin Rooney to complete his new sonic arsenal.After the acclaim of 1988’s ‘The Real Dirt’ album and after numerous live gigs, King Blank morphed into The Ian Lowery Group in August 1989. A 12” single ‘Need’/ ‘Sailor on Horse’/ ‘13thFloor’ was released together with a promotional videoIn September came the classic wordplay album title – ‘King Blank To… The Ian Lowery Group’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *