Ten Years After – 1967-1974 (2018)

Posted by Green on December 6, 2020
in rock

m4a | LINKS

1967-1974 is a new 10CD box set that celebrates 50 years since the eponymous debut album of British blues/rock band Ten Years After.
This collection gathers long-players from the Chrysalis and Deram eras and includes eight studio albums, one live album and a bonus disc of never before heard recordings from 1972 called The Cap Ferrat Sessions, which is newly mixed by producer Chris Kimsey. All the albums have been remastered from the original quarter-inch production master tapes. The unreleased material – The Cap Ferrat Sessions – exists thanks to Alvin Lee’s wife, who discovered a box of recordings in their house in Spain. Chris Kimsey recorded and engineered these tracks originally (they formed part of the Rock N Roll Music to the World sessions) which is why Chrysalis Records turned to him to mix them for the first time. Cap Ferrat is in the South of France, situated between Nice and Monaco.

Kimsey has set the record straight in terms of the quality of these newly-found tracks: “Alvin and the band were incredibly creative and abundant during this period. These re-discovered recordings were not rough demos, not rehearsals, but completed masters that did not make the album due to the time limitations of vinyl at the time. So these gems were left off. Mixing this in 2017 I began to study the parts, the playing, the response of each musician. It was amazing! It is what all great recordings are made of.

CD1 – 1967 Ten Years After:

01 I Want To Know
02 I Can’t Keep From Crying, Sometimes
03 Adventures Of A Young Organ
04 Spoonful
05 Losing The Dogs
06 Feel It For Me
07 Love Until I Die
08 Don’t Want You, Woman
09 Help Me

CD2 – 1968 Undead:

01 I May Be Wrong, But I Won’t Be Wrong Always
02 Woodchopper’s Ball
03 Spider In My Web
04 Summertime / Shantung Cabbage
05 I’m Going Home

CD3 – 1969 Stonedhenge:

01 Going To Try
02 I Can’t Live Without Lydia
03 Woman Trouble
04 Skoobly-Oobly-Doobob
05 Hear Me Calling
06 A Sad Song
07 Three Blind Mice
08 No Title
09 Faro
10 Speed Kills

CD4 – 1969 Ssssh:

01 Bad Scene
02 Two Time Mama
03 Stoned Woman
04 Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
05 If You Should Love Me
06 I Don’t Know That You Don’t Know My Name
07 The Stomp
08 I Woke Up This Morning

CD5 – 1970 Cricklewood Green:

01 Sugar The Road
02 Working On The Road
03 50,000 Miles Beneath My Brain
04 Year 3,000 Blues
05 Me And My Baby
06 Love Like A Man
07 Circles
08 As The Sun Still Burns Away

CD6 – 1970 Watt:

01 I’m Coming On
02 My Baby Left Me
03 Think About The Times
04 I Say Yeah
05 The Band With No Name
06 Gonna Run
07 She Lies In The Morning
08 Sweet Little Sixteen

CD7 – 1971 A Space In Time:

01 One Of These Days
02 Here They Come
03 I’d Love To Change The World
04 Ove The Hill
05 Baby Won’t You Let Me Rock ‘N Roll You
06 Once There Was A Time
07 Let The Sky Fall
08 Hard Monkeys
09 I’ve Been There Too
10 Uncle Jam

CD8 – 1972 Rock & Music To The World:

01 You Give Me Loving
02 Convention Prevention
03 Turned Off T.V. Blues
04 Standing At The Station
05 You Can’t Win Them All
06 Religion
07 Choo Choo Mama
08 Tomorrow I’ll Be Out Of Town
09 Rock & Roll Music To The World

CD9 – 1974 Positive Vibrations:

01 Nowhere To Run
02 Positive Vibrations
03 Stone Me
04 Without You
05 Going BackTo Birmingham
06 It’s Getting Harder
07 You’re Driving Me Crazy
08 Look Into My Life
09 Look Me Straight Into The Eyes
10 I Wanted To Boogie

CD10 – 2018 The Cap Ferrat Sessions:

01 Look At Yourself
02 Running Around
03 Holy Shit
04 There’s A Feeling
05 I Hear You Calling My Name

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *