Sweet Pain – England’s Heavy Blues Super Session (1969/2015)

Posted by on March 16, 2015
in rock

mp3 320 kbps | 106 MB | UL | UA

This UK studio group comprised several of the country’s leading blues musicians. Saxophonist Dick Heckstall-Smith was a veteran of Blues Incorporated, the Graham Bond Organisation and John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers before becoming a founder member of Colosseum, while John O’Leary (harmonica) and Keith Tillman (bass) were concurrently members of the John Dummer Blues Band. Stuart Cowell (guitar), Sam Crozier (piano), Junior Dunn (drums) and vocalists Annette Brox and Alan Greed completed the Sweet Pain line-up featured on the unit’s lone album. Its tough blend of jazz-based R&B was marked by the free-playing associated with informal ‘jam’ sessions, and on its completion the individual members resumed their respective careers. This release, dubbed England’s Heavy Blues Super Session for America, is a testimony to their short-lived collective ambition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *