Richard & Linda Thompson – Shoot Out The Lights [Reissue, Remastered](2010)

Posted by admin on December 7, 2021as

RI320 | FLAC

Richard & Linda Thompson’s marriage was crumbling as they were recording Shoot Out the Lights in 1982, and many critics have read the album as a chronicle of the couple’s divorce. In truth, most of the album’s songs had been written two years earlier (when the Thompsons were getting along fine) for an abandoned project produced by Gerry Rafferty, and tales of busted relationships and domestic discord were always prominent in their songbook. But there is a palpable tension to Shoot Out the Lights which gives songs like “Don’t Renege On Our Love” and “Did She Jump Or Was She Pushed” an edgy bite different from the Thompsons’ other albums together; there’s a subtle, unmistakable undertow of anger and dread in this music that cuts straight down to the bone. Joe Boyd’s clean, uncluttered production was the ideal match for these songs and their Spartan arrangements, and Richard Thompson’s wiry guitar work was remarkable, displaying a blazing technical skill that never interfered with his melodic sensibilities. Individually, all eight of the album’s songs are striking (especially the sonic fireworks of the title cut, the beautiful drift of “Just The Motion,” and the bitter reminiscence of “Did She Jump Or Was She Pushed”), and as a whole they were far more than the sum of their parts, a meditation on love and loss in which beauty, passion, and heady joy can still be found in defeat. It’s ironic that Richard & Linda Thompson enjoyed their breakthrough in the United States with the album that ended their career together, but Shoot Out the Lights found them rallying their strengths to the bitter end; it’s often been cited as Richard Thompson’s greatest work, and it’s difficult for anyone who has heard his body of work to argue the point.


CD 1 (Shoot Out The Lights):
01. Don’t Renege On Our Love
02. Walking On A Wire
03. Man In Need
04. Just The Motion
05. Shoot Out The Lights
06. Back Street Slide
07. Did She Jump or Was She Pushed?
08. Wall Of Death

CD 2 (Live):
01. Dargai (4 June 1982 Santa Cruz)
02. Back Street Slide (6 June 1982 San Francisco)
03. Pavanne (6 June 1982 San Francisco)
04. I’ll Keep It With Mine (Soundboard 1982)
05. Borrowed Time (4 June 1982 Santa Cruz)
06. Did She Jump Or Was She Pushed (4 June 1982 Santa Cruz)
07. I’m A Dreamer (6 June 1982 San Francisco)
08. Honky Tonk Blues (4 June 1982 Santa Cruz)
09. Shoot Out The Lights (4 June 1982 Santa Cruz)
10. For Shame Of Doing Wrong (6 June 1982 San Francisco)
11. Dimming Of The Day (6 June 1982 San Francisco)
12. The Price Of Love (Hidden Bonus Track)

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *