Ralph Alessi – It’s Always Now (2023)

Posted by Green on March 16, 2023
in jazz

320 | FLAC


On his new album, Alessi’s unique tone is as limber, piercing and present as ever, enveloped by a fresh quartet line-up – pianist Florian Weber, Bänz Oester on bass and drummer Gerry Hemingway – that navigates through the trumpeter’s idiosyncratically swinging compositions with a sixth sense.

The album is not only a continuation of the leader’s work but also records Florian’s evolution on the label, this being his fourth album with ECM to date. His distinctive harmonic approach on keys is as evident in leader settings as in the role of a sideman, and his deep sensibility for Alessi’s pulse enhances this session, which was produced by Manfred Eicher.

Ralph Alessi: trumpet
Florian Weber: piano
Bänz Oester: double bass
Gerry Hemingway: drums

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *