Ocean Colour Scene – Yesterday Today 1992-2018 [15CD Box Set] (2023)

Posted by Green on March 9, 2023as

320 | FLAC


This 233-track collection is the first of it’s kind. A celebration of one of Britain’s finest bands. Including all of their studio albums from the self-titled debut album Ocean Colour Scene, to the chart-topping Moseley Shoals, Marchin’ Already, One For The Modern and the post Brit-pop Mechanical Wonder, North Atlantic Drift, A Hyperactive Workout For The Flying Squad, On The Leyline and the later albums Saturday and Painting. Moreover, the B-sides and rarities included in this boxset offer a treasure trove of lesser known Ocean Colour Scene classics. There is the Free inspired ‘So Sad’ and ‘Men Of Such Opinion’ (Simon’s favourite self-written lyric), the irresistibly melodic ‘Huckleberry Grove’ featuring the Jamaican ska legend Rico Rodriguez, and the more sedate ballads ‘Robin Hood’, ‘I Need A Love Song’ and ‘Mrs Jones’ and a cover of ‘Day Tripper’, featuring Noel and Liam Gallagher. To round off the connection, you may also want to listen to an unreleased song of Weller’s, ‘For Dancers Only’, which Steve unearthed for Ocean Colour Scene’s 2007 release, On The Leyline. Accompanying 15CD collection is a stunning 72-page hardback book, with in-depth essay from award winning author Daniel Rachel depicting the rise of Ocean Colour Scene from the inside. No stone has been left unturned as alongside these words the book is packed with incredible photographs from Ocean Colour Scene photographers Lawrence Watson and Tony Briggs, many previously unseen. There’s also personal memorabilia, tour flyers, back stage passes from legendary gigs, lyrics and more. It’s all here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *