Nick Lowe – The Convincer [20th Anniversary Edition] (2021)

Posted by Green on September 16, 2021
in rock

320 kbps | LINKS

Nick Lowe’s 2001 album The Convincer established him as an elder statesman of rock and roll, far removed from the ironic power popper he was in the 1970s. The album arrived in a different world than the day before, releasing on September 11, 2001. These were songs for troubled times (“I’m a Mess,” “Lately I’ve Let Things Slide”) and Nick’s songwriting was never sharper, with Mojo Magazine saying “Nick Lowe has made the album of his career.” For the album’s 20th anniversary, three bonus tracks are added to the album: a long-lost Lowe-original called “Different Kind of Blue,” an acoustic cover of The Shirelles’ “Mama Said,” and a stripped-back rendition of The Chi-lites’ “There Will Never Be Any Peace (Until God Is Seated at the Conference Table).”


1. Homewrecker (3:08)
2. Only a Fool Breaks His Own Heart (3:40)
3. Lately I’ve Let Things Slide (3:07)
4. She’s Got Soul (2:24)
5. Cupid Must Be Angry (2:47)
6. Indian Queens (3:42)
7. Poor Side of Town (3:51)
8. I’m a Mess (3:11)
9. Between Dark and Dawn (2:31)
10. Bygones (Won’t Go) (3:10)
11. Has She Got a Friend? (2:42)
12. Let’s Stay in and Make Love (3:50)
13. There Will Never Be Any Peace (Until God Is Seated at the Conference Table) (3:29)
14. Different Kind of Blue (3:10)
15. Mama Said (2:48)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *