Morgan James – The White Album (2018)

Posted by Green on October 26, 2018
in pop, rock

320 kbps | 185 MB | LINKS

hroughout her spectacular career, singer, songwriter, and Broadway actress Morgan James has taken on beloved roles and songs to give them her unique perspective and make them her own. She rocked the stage as Christ herself in an all-female version of Jesus Christ Superstar, took on a full-album acoustic cover of D’Angelo’s Black Messiah, and brought the critics to their feet with her cover of Joni Mitchell’s classic Blue album.

James has also recorded and toured with Scott Bradlee’s Postmodern Jukebox, a musical collective that covers modern songs with a vintage twist – turning today’s pop hits into swing and jazz classics. Most recently, she released a video in which she put her signature spin on the Nirvana grunge rock classic Lithium.

Now James has set her sights on one of the world’s most iconic records: the Beatles’ White Album. While each song is performed in its original key, James provides a soulful vibe and feminine flair to songs originally penned and recorded by four lads from Liverpool.

Listeners find the classic ballads “Blackbird” and “I Will” presented acappella with James showcasing artfully-constructed harmonies. The wistfully mournful lyrics of “Julia” are borne beautifully by her heavenly vocals, while the early heavy metal sound of “Helter Skelter” infuses the album with James’s signature funky soul treatment. The album was produced by her longtime collaborator Doug Wamble, who played the instruments in every song as well as providing additional vocals.


1. Back In The U.S.S.R. (2:34)
2. Dear Prudence (3:54)
3. Glass Onion (2:22)
4. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da (3:07)
5. Wild Honey Piie (0:57)
6. The Continuing Story Of Bungalow Bill (3:33)
7. While My Guitar Gently Weeps (4:28)
8. Happiness Is A Warm Gun (2:55)
9. Martha My Dear (2:29)
10. I’m So Tired (2:11)
11. Blackbird (2:01)
12. Piggies (2:06)
13. Rocky Racoon (3:38)
14. Don’t Pass Me By (2:41)
15. Why Don’t We Do It In The Road (1:36)
16. I Will (1:45)
17. Julia (3:01)

1. Birthday (1:22)
2. Yer Blues (3:08)
3. Mother Nature’s Son (2:56)
4. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey (2:30)
5. Sexy Sadie (3:14)
6. Helter Skelter (3:21)
7. Long, Long, Long (2:39)
8. Revolution 1 (3:48)
9. Honey Pie (2:34)
10. Savoy Truffle (2:55)
11. Cry Baby Cry (3:06)
12. Revolution 9 (0:57)
13. Good Night (2:59)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *