Mike Cooper – Five Albums On Three Discs (2019)

Posted by Green on July 11, 2019as

320 kbps | 496 MB | LINKS

How here’s a treat, and a lot of it too. Hailing out of Reading in Berkshire, our Guitar-playing Harmonica-ingesting British hero MIKE COOPER sees his first five platters between 1969 and 1973 be given the BGO treatment – New Remasters, Digipak presentation and even three bonus tracks – rare stand alone single sides from 1970 and 1972 on Dawn Records.

His musical styles and influences progressed from Roots Blues, Folk and Americana in 1969 (on Pye) through to 1971’s Folk and Country Rock aided and abetted by guest players taken a hiatus from their day jobs as Jazzers in groups like Mike Westbrook’s Quintet, Nucleus and The John Dummer Band. The very Neil Young “Places I Know” set from 1971 is a collaboration album with Michael Gibbs and his next ensemble group ‘The Machine Gun Co.’ Playing superb 12-string guitar on one of Cooper’s ‘you never see them’ British singles “Your Lovely Ways (Part 1 & 2)” is none other than Chris Spedding (it’s the first of three bonus tracks tail-ending on Disc 3). There’s a wad of open tunings to wade through, so let’s get at it…

Disc 1 (73:30 minutes):
1. Death Letter [Side 1]
2. Bad Luck Blues
3. Maggie Campbell
4. Leadhearted Blues
5. Four Ways
6. Poor Little Annie
7. Tadpole Blues [Side 2]
8. Divinity Blues
9. You’re Gonna Be Sorry
10. Electric Chair
11. Crow Jane
12. Pepper Rag
13. Saturday Blues
Tracks 1 to 13 are his debut album “Oh Really?!” – released February 1969 in the UK on Pye Records NSPL 18281 in Stereo and in the USA on Janus JLS-3004. Mike Cooper on Vocals and Guitar with Derek Hall on Second Guitar.

14. The Link [Side 1]
15. Journey To The East
16. First Song
17. Theme In C
18. Thinking Back
19. Thinks She Knows Me Now [Side 2]
20. Too Late Now
21. Wish She Was With Me
22. Do I Know You?
23. Start Of A Journey
24. Looking Back
Tracks 14 to 24 are his second studio album “Do I Know You?” – released March 1970 in the UK on Dawn Records DNLS 3005 and 1970 in the USA on Janus JLS-3021. Mike Cooper on Guitar, Vocals and Slide with Harry Miller of The Mike Westbrook Quartet on Double Bass

Disc 2 (70:40 minutes):
1. That’s How [Side 1]
2. Sitting Here Watching
3. Goodtimes
4. I’ve Got Mine
5. A Half Sunday Homage To A Whole Leonardo Da Vinci (Without Words By Richard Brautigan)
6. Don’t Talk Too Fast [Side 2]
7. Trout Steel
8. In The Mourning
9. Hope You See
10. Pharaoh’s March
11. Weeping Rose
Tracks 1 to 11 are his third album “Trout Steel” – released November 1970 in the UK on Dawn Records DNLS 3011 (no USA issue)

12. Country Water [Side 1]
13. Three-Forty Eight
14. Night Journey
15. Time To Time
Tracks 12 to 15 are Side 1 of his fourth album “Places I Know” credited to Mike Cooper with The Machine Gun Co. and Michael Gibbs – released November 1971 in the UK on Dawn Records DNLS 3026 (no USA issue)

Disc 3 (75:35 minutes):
1. Paper And Smoke [Side 2]
2. Broken Bridges
3. Now I Know
4. Goodbye Blues, Goodbye
5. Places I Know
Tracks 1 to 5 are Side 2 of his fourth album “Places I Know” credited to Mike Cooper with The Machine Gun Co. and Michael Gibbs – released November 1971 in the UK on Dawn Records DNLS 3026 (no USA issue). “Night Journey” and “Paper And Smoke” feature The Machine Gun Company [Co.] – Alan Cook on Piano, Bill Boazman, Geoff Hawkins on Saxophone and Pipes, Jeff Clyne of Nucleus, John Van Derrick, Laurie Alan, Les Calvert on Bass and Tim Richardson on Percussion with Chorus Vocals by Gerald Moore of Reggae Guitars, Jean Oddie and Jazz Vocalist Norma Winstone

6. Song For Abigail [Side 1]
7. The Singing Tree
8. Midnight Words
9. So Glad (That I Found You) [Side 2]
10. Lady Anne
Tracks 6 to 10 are his fifth studio album “The Machine Gun Co. with Mike Cooper” – released November 1972 in the UK on Dawn DNLS 3031 (no USA issue).

11. Your Lovely Ways (Part 1 & 2) – UK 1970 7″ Maxi EP single on Dawn Records DNX 2501, A-side, Non-Album
12. Time In Hand – UK 1972 7″ single on Dawn Records DNS 1022, A-side, Non-Album
13. Schaabisch Hall – UK 1972 7″ single on Dawn Records DNS 1022, B-side, Non-Album Instrumental
Tracks 11, 12 and 13 featuring Chris Spedding on 12-String Guitar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *