Mike Aiken – Wayward Troubadour (2018)

Posted by Green on July 9, 2018as

320 kbps | 83 MB | LINKS

Mike Aiken’s new release Wayward Troubadour (Northwind Records), is one of those summertime Americana “kick back and hang out” collections perfect to pop in the stereo and launch into the season. Featuring super talented friends: Kenny Vaughan (Marty Stuart) on guitars, David Roe (Johnny Cash, Chet Atkins, Jerry Reed) on bass, and with songs co-written by Henry Paul (Outlaws), who also contributes mandolin and vocals; and Chris P. James (Burrito Brothers), the songs are, as expected, stories of the life of a singing bard and nostalgia, with some amusing songs thrown in for good measure.

“Everything Changed” is a two-step shuffle with snappy beats, and wailing old timey fiddle; and then “Nashville Skyline” describes the homesickness and longing for people and places, and “Hangover Helper is another precise one, with drummer Tim Hurst popping crisp and clear over entertaining lyrics. “Two Lane Highway,” “where cokes were just a dime,” from the place where maybe all soda pop is referred to as “a coke” and the highways are mostly all two lanes, taking you “up around the bend.” You’ll notice Henry Paul and Amy Aiken’s nice high harmonies on this one, too. “Travelin’ Bone continues the troubadour theme with some more jug band style weaving guitar thanks to Kenny Vaughn. “Chesapeake” was rerecorded from one of Aiken’s earlier releases; this song was picked by Sports Illustrated for their list of “All-Time Top 40 Sport Songs,” a song about sailing and is just a cool little song.

Aiken co-wrote six, and wrote another two of the eleven tracks solo here, and then provided interpretations of three others: “Real Mean Dog” (Robbin Thompson, Gregg Wetzel);“Dead Man Runs Before He Walks” (Mark Collie, Shawn Camp) and “Penelope” (Christopher Hynes) with some throwback “yeah yeahs” over rubboard. All in all a groovy album with plenty of great musicianship and the kind of solid songs that’ll bring you back at least a couple decades to our roots beginnings.

The rest of Aiken’s band includes Amy Aiken – vocals, rubboard, African gourd, congas, tambourine and assorted noisemakers; Amy pulls a lot of the vocal weight on this project. And there’s Tom Hurst on drums; Michael Webb on the Hammond B3; Ben Probus’ fiddle work; Skip DeRupa on guiro, and jaw harp; and Randall Thomas on background vocals; with Tim Buppert on guest vocals. Give it a listen, and get your copy,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *