Memphis Slim – Volume II (1962/2019)

Posted by Green on December 17, 2019as

320 kbps | 75 MB | LINKS

An amazingly prolific artist who brought a brisk air of urban sophistication to his frequently stunning presentation, John “Peter” Chatman better known as Memphis Slim assuredly ranks with the greatest blues pianists of all time. He was smart enough to take Big Bill Broonzy’s early advice about developing a style to call his own to heart, instead of imitating that of his idol, Roosevelt Sykes. Soon enough, other 88s pounders were copying Slim rather than the other way around; his thundering ivories attack set him apart from most of his contemporaries, while his deeply burnished voice possessed a commanding authority.


01. Lonesome
02. Cold Blooded Woman
03. One Man’s Mad
04. Good Time Roll Creole
05. What Is the Mare Rack
06. Pigalle Love
07. Four Walls
08. It’s Been Too Long
09. Big Bertha
10. I’m Lost Without You
11. I’ll Just Keep on Swingin’ with the Blues
12. True Love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *