Malcolm Holcombe – Pretty Little Troubles (2017)

Posted by on May 18, 2017as

320 kbps | 109 MB | LINKS

Produced by Darrell Scott and recorded at The Sanctuary and Hippie Jack’s studios, the album is Holcombe’s 15th studio recording. Joining Malcolm on the record are Darrell Scott (acoustic and electric guitar, pedal steel,piano, mandola, bouzouki,vocals), Jarrod Tyler (dobro, mandolin,vocals), Verlon Thompson (acoustic guitar,vocals), Dennis Crouch (bass), Marco Giovinno and Kenny Malone (percussion), Jelly Roll Johnson (harmonica), Jonathan Yudkin (violin,viola, cello), Mike McGoldrick (Ulleann whistles & pipes) and Joey Miskulin (accordian). “Malcolm Holcombe is an artist of deep mystery and high art,” says producer Darrell Scott. “He is who I listen to, and have for over 20 years—this record goes on my list of “working with my heroes” – all the goods that I value in songs and artistry are in Malcolm – the real deal.” An acclaimed contemporary of Emmylou Harris and Steve Earle, and an “emotionally captivating” (Isthmus) performer, Holcombe has shared the stage with Merle Haggard, Richard Thompson, John Hammond, and Leon Russell. Born and raised in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina, Holcombe’s “heartfelt baritone” (NPR) poignantly delivers “haunted country, acoustic blues and rugged folk” (Rolling Stone) with lyrics that invite you in, sit you down, and speak directly to you. “The album is flawless, swimming in integrity and beautifully played.

Leave a Reply