Liz McComb – Trilogy 1992-1995 (1998)

Posted by Green on October 13, 2021as

320                       FLAC

Elizabeth McComb (born December 1, 1952) is an American gospel and blues singer, songwriter and pianist.

The sixth of seven children, Elizabeth McComb grew up in an African-American family that originally came from Mississippi. Her father, a factory worker, died when she was very young. Her mother was very religious, as was the whole family, and she became a preacher and the pastor of a Pentecostal church. Three of her sisters formed a vocal group called The Daughters of Zion, which was very popular in local churches. Many years later, they would sometimes accompany McComb during her concerts. McComb started singing at the early age of three. At home, the children grew up listening to the great gospel singers: The Staple Singers, Sister Rosetta Tharpe and above all, Mahalia Jackson who became McComb’s idol and her role model. The young girl learned Jackson’s entire repertory by heart. In the meantime, her only brother played jazz trumpet and introduced McComb to the great jazz musicians – Louis Armstrong, Charlie Parker and Max Roach as well as Nat King Cole and Sarah Vaughan.

McComb began with violin but decided to switch to the piano, an instrument with which her “heartstrings feel perfectly in tune”, in her words. She learned to play the piano on her own and one day she decided to take the plunge and replace her pianist at a moment’s notice. Gradually, she became one of the best pianist-singers of her generation. While still young, she joined the Karamu House Theater school and then the cultural center’s theater company.

CD1 – Acoustic Woman
01 – Open Our Eyes
02 – Don’t Let the Devil Ride
03 – Motherless Child
04 – Move on Up a Little Higher
05 – Mary Don’t You Weep
06 – Morning Train
07 – Sugar in My Bowl
08 – In the Mood for Love
09 – Steal Away
10 – Soon I Will Be Done (live)
11 – Live Together

CD2 – Rock My Soul
01 – I Told Jesus, I would Be Alright If He Changed My Name
02 – Rock My Soul
03 – In The Upper Room
04 – Traveling Shoes
05 – Soul Say Yes
06 – At The Cross
07 – Motherless Child
08 – I Don’t Know What I Would Do Without The Lord
09 – Humble Me
10 – Everytime I Feel The Spirit
11 – Deep River – Steal Away

CD3 – Liz McComb Live
01 – Calvary
02 – Children Go Where I Send Them
03 – Elijah Rock
04 – I Got a Made Up Mind
05 – Stand by Me
06 – If I Labour in the Vyneyard
07 – By the Rivers of Babylone
08 – I Stood on the Banks of Jordan
09 – You Can’t Make Me Doubt Him
10 – I’ve Been Buked
11 – Wade in the Water
12 – Said I Wasn’t Gonna Tell Nobody
13 – Go Down Moses

One Comment

  • James A Tarte says:

    Why am I having to solve a captcha from Usenet before I get to Rapidgator to down load the selection.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *