Lee Ranaldo – Electric Trim (2017)

Posted by on September 14, 2017

320 kbps | 105 MB | LINKS

Lee Ranaldo will release a brand new album called Electric Trim. For the follow-up to 2013’s Last Night on Earth, the Sonic Youth co-founder has returned to his old label home of Mute Records.

“I’m so excited about this record, it represents new developments and directions for me and I can’t wait to hit the road and play this music live,” Ranaldo noted in a press statement. “I’m also so pleased to partner with Mute for this release – it’s like a homecoming of sorts as Sonic Youth’s early records were released on Blast First/Mute. To me Mute has always been a true artist’s label, concentrating first and foremost on the music.”

Electric Trim’s nine tracks were recorded in both New York City and Barcelona alongside producer Raül “Refree” Fernandez. Ranaldo’s longtime band The Dust — that’s former Sonic Youth member Steve Shelley, guitarist Alan Licht, and bassist Tim Luntzel — appear on the LP, as does longtime pal and collaborator Nels Cline of Wilco and Kid Millions. Sharon Van Etten also contributed extensively, singing on six different songs, including the duet “Last Looks”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.