Judy Collins – A Love Letter To Stephen Sondheim (2017)

Posted by admin on December 10, 2017
in jazz, pop

320 kbps | 83 MB | LINKS

This Sondheim collection follows album-length explorations of Dylan, Cohen and Lennon and McCartney and it began as a live project. It is Sondheim stripped bare: just Collins and her long-time pianist Russell Walden and 10 songs, not all of them obvious picks, from shows including Merrily We Roll Along (“Not a Day Goes By”), Sweeney Todd (“Not While I’m Around”), Sunday in the Park with George (“Move On”, “Finishing the Hat”) and, of course, A Little Night Music (“Liaisons” and “Send in the Clowns”). There’s also “I’m Still Here”, Carlotta’s big number from Follies. There’s none of the brassiness often associated with the song, Collins breezy rather than emphatic and strident though, like Carlotta, she too is a great survivor. That is, of course, the nature of her voice: pure, light, true – even at 77, in remarkably good nick.


1. No One Is Alone (3:07)
2. Finishing The Hat (2:55)
3. Not While I’m Around (2:52)
4. Take Me To The World (2:54)
5. Liasons (4:58)
6. Move On (3:56)
7. Send In The Clowns (3:58)
8. Not A Day Goes By (3:26)
9. I’m Still Here (4:48)
10. Anyone Can Whistle (2:40)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *