John “Tbone” Paxton – Joys (2023)

Posted by Green on January 19, 2023
in jazz

320 | FLAC


Trombonist John “Tbone” Paxton, percussionist RJ Spangler and their troupe of happy enthusiasts pass the torch of brightly lit and spark laden, colorful traditions that make ends meet and embellish universally pleasing music. John Paxton is steeped in instrumental Motown, R&B, vintage early blues, mainstream jazz from “Tricky Sam” Nanton to J.J. Johnson, Curtis Fuller and right up to Trombone Shorty.

As a singer whose roots are equally as deep, he’s immersed in New Orleans, Kansas City as well as the Detroit tradition which all are never far behind. Neither is the music of Duke Ellington, Fats Waller, Slim Gaillard, Louis Jordan, Nat “King” Cole, soul funk of the 1960s or even Jimmy Cliff. He has a keen ability to conjure up engaging vocal images of Dr. John, Professor Longhair or Huey Smith from the Crescent City. His greatest attribute is the pure fun he brings to any setting, as fans have recognized through four decades.


01. John “Tbone” Paxton – Milenberg Joys
02. John “Tbone” Paxton – Estate
03. John “Tbone” Paxton – Lost Mind
04. John “Tbone” Paxton – This Will Make You Laugh
05. John “Tbone” Paxton – Junco Partner
06. John “Tbone” Paxton – Lulu’s Back In Town
07. John “Tbone” Paxton – Sweet and Slow
08. John “Tbone” Paxton – Push-ka Pee-Shee Pie
09. John “Tbone” Paxton – Them There Eyes
10. John “Tbone” Paxton – When I Grow Too Old To Dream
11. John “Tbone” Paxton – Cease The Bombing


Tbone Paxton, trombone/vocals
Matt LoRusso, guitar
Kurt Krahnke, string bass (2, 4, 6, 7, 10)
Trevor Lamb, string bass (1, 3, 5, 8, 9 11)
Sean Perlmutter, drums

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *