Howlin’ Wolf ‎– The Rockin’ Chair Album (Reissue, Remastered) (1962/1986)

Posted by Green on August 31, 2020as


Howlin’ Wolf’s second album brings together some of the blues great’s best singles from the late ’50s and early ’60s. Also available as a fine two-fer with his debut, Moanin’ in the Moonlight, the so-called Rockin’ Chair Album represents the cream of Wolf’s Chicago blues work. Those tracks afforded classic status are many, including “Spoonful,” “The Red Rooster,” “Wang Dang Doodle,” “Back Door Man,” “Shake for Me,” and “Who’s Been Talking?” Also featuring the fine work of Chess house producer and bassist Willie Dixon and guitarist Hubert Sumlin, Rockin’ Chair qualifies as one of pinnacles of early electric blues, and is an essential album for any quality blues collection.


01. Shake For Me (2:11)
02. Red Rooster (2:24)
03. You’ll Be Mine (2:26)
04. Who’s Been Talkin’ (2:21)
05. Wang Dang Doodle (2:22)
06. Little Baby (2:43)
07. Spoonful (2:43)
08. Going Down Slow (3:22)
09. Down In The Bottom (2:09)
10. Back Door Man (2:48)
11. Howlin’ For My Baby (2:33)
12. Tell Me (2:55)
13. Killing Floor (2:45)
14. Louise (2:38)
15. Poor Boy (2:30)
16. Sittin’ On Top Of The World (2:30)
17. Nature (2:41)
18. My Country Sugar Mama (2:30)
19. Tail Dragger (2:54)
20. Three Hundred Pounds Of Joy (2:57)
21. Natchez Burnin’ (2:08)
22. Built For Comfort (2:30)
23. Ooh Baby, Hold Me (2:34)
24. Tell Me What I’ve Done (2:47)

Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals – Howlin’ Wolf
Bass – Willie Dixon
Drums – Earl Phillips, Sam Lay
Guitar – Hubert Sumlin, Jimmy Rogers, Willie Johnson
Piano – Henry Gray, Otis Spann
Tenor Saxophone – Abb Locke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *