Grateful Dead – RFK Stadium Washington, DC, July 12 & 13, 1989 (2017)

Posted by Green on January 26, 2018as

320 kbps | 726 MB | LINKS

The Grateful Dead battled the elements in July 1989, enduring drenching rains and stifling humidity during back-to-back shows at Robert F. Kennedy Stadium in the nation’s capital. In spite of the bleak weather, the band thrilled the massive crowds both nights with triumphant performances that rank among the very best of a busy year that included 74 shows and the release of the group’s final studio album, BUILT TO LAST.

ROBERT F. KENNEDY STADIUM, WASHINGTON, D.C., JULY 12 & 13, 1989 includes two previously unreleased concerts taken from the band’s master 24-track analog recordings, which have been mixed by Jeffrey Norman at TRI Studios and mastered in HDCD by David Glasser. The collection’s colorful slip case features original artwork by Justin Helton and a perfect-bound book with in-depth liner notes written by Dean Budnick, editor-in-chief of Relix magazine.

Jerry Garcia and Bob Weir along with drummers Mickey Hart and Bill Kreutzmann plus bassist Phil Lesh and keyboardist Brent Mydland were joined by future member Bruce Hornsby during both RFK ‘89 shows. Hornsby can be heard adding accordion on a rare second set “Sugaree” as well as “Man Smart (Woman Smarter)” during the first night. Bruce showed up on July 13 to add accordion to “Tennessee Jed” and “Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again.”

July 12, 1989
1. Touch of Grey
2. New Minglewood Blues
3. Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo
4. Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues
5. Far from Me
6. Cassidy
7. Friend of the Devil
8. Promised Land
9. Sugaree>
10. Man Smart, Woman Smarter
11. Ship of Fools>
12. Estimated Prophet>
13. Eyes of the World>
14. Drums>
15. Space>
16. I Need A Miracle>
17. Dear Mr. Fantasy>
18. Black Peter>
19. Turn On Your Lovelight>
20. Black Muddy River

July 13, 1989
1. Hell in a Bucket
2. Cold Rain and Snow
3. Little Red Rooster
4. Tennessee Jed
5. Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again
6. To Lay Me Down
7. Let It Grow
8. He’s Gone
9. Looks Like Rain
10. Terrapin Station
11. Drums
12. Space
13. I Will Take You Home
14. The Other One
15. Wharf Rat
16. Throwing Stones
17. Good Lovin’
18. U.S. Blues

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *