Gov’t Mule – Heavy Load Blues [Deluxe Edition] (2022)

Posted by Green on March 31, 2022as

320 | FLAC

‘Woke up singing a dead man’s song…’ is the opening line from the Warren Haynes original and album title ‘Heavy Load Blues’. On this album, Gov’t Mule plays blues. Haynes is, of course, the leader of Gov’t Mule, hailing from a Southern rock tradition of scruffy virtuosity. Gov’t Mule is Warren’s show and the blues is the informing foundation, personal and universal. Blues is a feeling. Something you know when you hear it. ‘Heavy Load Blues’ has Haynes originals and reinventions of songs by Bobby Bland, Junior Wells, Elmore James and Tom Waits, to name a few. Haynes makes these songs spring to a new life, while paying an homage to the music and culture of the music that has inspired him and his band. Presenting this Warren Haynes/Gov’t Mule contribution to the art form with this American soul treasure.


1. Blues Before Sunrise (3:44)
2. Hole In My Soul (4:29)
3. Wake Up Dead (5:55)
4. Love Is A Mean Old World (4:56)
5. Snatch It Back And Hold It > Hold It Back > Snatch It Back And Hold It (7:55)
6. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City (5:36)
7. (Brother Bill) Last Clean Shirt (4:12)
8. Make It Rain (6:41)
9. Heavy Load (7:19)
10. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home (5:45)
11. If Heartaches Were Nickels (7:28)
12. I Asked For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline) (9:05)
13. Black Horizon (4:51)
14. Have Mercy On The Criminal (6:34)
15. Long Distance Call (4:52)
16. Street Corner Talking (6:26)
17. You Know My Love (4:19)
18. Hiding Place (7:23)
19. Need Your Love So Bad (5:39)
20. Good Morning Little School Girl (7:27)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *