Fairport Convention – Rising For The Moon [Deluxe Edition, Reissue, Remastered] (2013)

Posted by Green on December 25, 2022as

320 | FLAC


The best British folk-rock band of the late ’60s, Fairport Convention did more than any other act to develop a truly British variation on the folk-rock prototype by drawing upon traditional material and styles indigenous to the British Isles. While the revved-up renditions of traditional British folk tunes drew the most critical attention, the group members were also (at least at the outset) talented songwriters as well as interpreters. They were comfortable with conventional harmony-based folk-rock as well as tunes that drew upon more explicitly traditional sources, and boasted some of the best singers and instrumentalists of the day. A revolving door of personnel changes, however, saw the exit of their most distinguished talents, and basically changed the band into a living museum piece after the early ’70s, albeit an enjoyable one with integrity…

CD 1:

The Original Album:
01. Rising For The Moon
02. Restless
03. White Dress
04. Let It Go
05. Stranger To Himself
06. What Is True
07. Iron Lion
08. Dawn
09. After Halloween
10. Night-Time Girl
11. One More Chance

Bonus Tracks:
12. White Dress (Live On LWT 9th August 1975)
13. Dawn (Alternative Version)
14. What Is True (Studio Demo)
15. After Halloween (Home Demo)
16. The King And Queen Of England (Home Demo Alternative Take)

CD 2 (Live At The Troubadour – Recorded at the LA Troubadour 1974):
01. Down In The Flood
02. Ballad Of Ned Kelly
03. Solo
04. It’ll Take A Long Time
05. She Moves Through The Fair
06. The Hens March Thru The Midden & The 4 Poster Bed
07. The Hexamshire Lass
08. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
09. Six Days On The Road
10. Like An Old Fashioned Waltz
11. John The Gun
12. Down Where The Drunkards Roll
13. Crazy Lady Blues
14. Who Knows Where The Time Goes
15. Matty Groves
16. That’ll Be The Day

Sandy Denny / lead (1,3,5,6,8,9,11) & backing vocals, piano (1,11), electric piano (4,6,9), acoustic guitar (5)
Dave Swarbrick / lead (4,10) & backing vocals, violin, viola (3,9), mandolin (3), autoharp (3), dulcimer (5), acoustic guitar (6,9)
Trevor Lucas / lead (2,7) & backing vocals, acoustic guitar
Jerry Donahue / electric, slide (7) & acoustic (2,8) guitars
Dave Pegg / bass, backing vocals
Dave Mattacks / drums (1-3,8,11), percussion (1,3,12)
Bruce Rowland / drums (4-7,9,10,12, percussion (5,7)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *