Fairport Convention – Farewell Farewell [40th Anniversary Edition] (2019)

Posted by Green on July 18, 2019as

FLAC   320 kbps | 137 MB | LINKS

In Spring 1979, after twelve years and numerous line-up changes, Fairport Convention decided to call it a day. Led by sole-remaining founder member Simon Nicol, the band, featuring Dave Pegg, Dave Swarbrick and Bruce Rowland, embarked on what they believed was the band’s ‘farewell tour’ of the UK. Recorded at Derby Assembly Rooms, Birmingham University and Southampton University, the band performed some of their best-loved songs, including their anthem, Richard Thompson’s “Meet On The Ledge”. Forty years later, the influential band is still touring with Nicol and Pegg still at the helm! The bonus tracks feature three more recordings from the tour, plus the 1980 studio single “Rubber Band”. The booklet is annotated by Alan Robinson.


1. Matty Groves / High Road To Linton
2. Orange Blossom Special
3. John Lee
4. Bridge Over The River Ash
5. Sir Patrick Spens
6. Mr Lacey
7. Walk Awhile
8. Bonny Black Hare
9. The Journeyman’s Grace
10. Meet On The Ledge
11. Rubber Band [studio single] – The Fairport Rhythm Section
12. The Hen’s March Through The Midden / The Four Poster Bed – The Fairport Rhythm Section
13. Flatback Caper – The Fairport Rhythm Section
14. Dirty Linen – The Fairport Rhythm Section

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *