Fairport Convention – Chicago 1970 (2020)

Posted by Green on October 9, 2020as


EARLY FM BROADCAST FROM FAIRPORT S FULL HOUSE LINE-UP Fairport Convention s fifth album, Full House, came out in July 1970, and was the band s first without a female lead vocalist, Sandy Denny having by then left to form Fotheringay. Founder member Ashley Hutchings had also left for Steeleye Span, and Dave Pegg had joined on bass. Prior to the album s release the band toured in the USA, and on 27th May 70 they performed at Chicago s Mandel Hall for a show which was recorded for live FM Radio Broadcast. Previously unreleased, this rare and unusual Fairport recording is now available here on CD certain to become a welcome addition to collections of this seminal English Folk-Rock band the world across.


01. Walk Awhile (4:34)
02. Lark In The Morning/Rakish Paddy/The Foxhunter’s Jig/Toss The Feathers (4:39)
03. Matty Groves (9:44)
04. The Deserter (5:50)
05. Dirty Linen/Paddy On The Railroad/Drops Of Brandy/O’Carolan’s Concerto (5:40)
06. Sloth (9:27)
07. Flatback Caper (8:55)
08. Tam Lin (9:27)
09. Sir Patrick Spens (4:46)
10. General Taylor/Mason’s Apron (8:16)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *