Fairport Convention – A Tree With Roots – Fairport Convention And The Songs Of Bob Dylan (2018)

Posted by Green on April 26, 2022
in folk

320 | FLAC

At the very beginning of their career, the North London Fairport Convention were often mistaken for an American band. This was largely due to their penchant for cover versions of songs by US singer-songwriters, primarily Bob Dylan. A good reason for a 2018 compilation is that it marks the 50th anniversary since the original 12-track ‘Basement Tapes’ acetate of Dylan arrived in London. It was from this white label that Fairport Convention got “Million Dollar Bash” and Fairport splinter group, Fotheringay, took “Too Much of Nothing”. Manfred Mann scored a hit with “The Mighty Quinn”, Julie Driscoll & Brian Auger, “This Wheel’s On Fire” and, lest we forget, The Tremelos “I Shall Be Released”.

01. Si tu dois partir
02. Jack O’ Diamonds
03. Lay Down Your Weary Tune (Live On John Peel’s Top Gear)
04. Dear Landlord
05. Open The Door Richard (David Symonds BBC Session)
06. I’ll Keep It With Mine
07. Percy’s Song (Live On John Peel’s Top Gear)
08. The Ballad Of Easy Rider
09. It Ain’t Me Babe (Demo)
10. George Jackson (Live At The Howff)
11. Tomorrow Is A Long Time (Live From The Royalty Theatre)
12. Days Of 49 (Live At Fairfield Halls, 1973)
13. Down In The Flood (Live At Fairfield Halls, 1973)
14. All Along The Watchtower (Live At Chateau Neuf, 1975)
15. Too Much Of Nothing
16. Million Dollar Bash
17. Knocking On Heaven’s Door (Live At The L.A. Troubadour, 1974)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *