Eric Burdon – The Eric Burdon Story [Deluxe Edition] (2004)

Posted by Green on January 2, 2019as


This double-disc set goes into Eric Burdon’s entire recorded oeuvre from his time with the Animals and War to his solo material, and pulls out the stops. While it’s truly a shame that some of the growling blues-rock classics from recordings like Animalism (“Smokestack Lightning” should have been here) are missing, at least “I’m Crying” is here. More important than the Animals material, the later years are given a solid lion’s share, without the excessive baggage of the band. This is a positive simply because this anthology showcases just what a stirring, rousing, utterly gifted singer Burdon is, despite his material, whether it’s his read of Louisiana Red’s “Sweet Blood Call” or the Elmore James classic “It Hurts Me Too,” which goes on for over ten minutes. Thankfully, many of the classics are here as well, from “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” and “We Gotta Get Out of This Place” to his near-definitive read of J.D. Loudermilk’s “Tobacco Road.”

CD 1:
01. San Franciscan night 03:54
02. House of the rising sun 04:59
03. We gotta get out of this place 09:32
04. Take it easy 04:49
05. I’m crying 05:01
06. Don’t let me be misunderstood 06:32
07. Don’t bring me down 05:11
08. Bird on the beach 05:57
09. Lights out 01:45
10. I’m ready 03:44
11. Devil’s daughter 04:05
12. Be my baby 03:18
13. Boom boom 04:45
14. Tobbaco road 10:29

CD 2:
01. Dey won’t 03:11
02. Do you feel it 03:32
03. Got the funky fever 02:59
04. I’m a wicked man 03:12
05. Stop what you are doing 05:00
06. Street walker 04:04
07. Sweet blood call 04:37
08. The royal canal 00:51
09. The road 04:50
10. Power company 04:35
11. Heart attack 04:05
12. It hurts me too 10:16
13. No more Elmore 08:34

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *