Donna Angelle & The Zydeco Posse’ – I’m Just A Country Girl (2019)

Posted by Green on September 2, 2019as

320 kbps | 102 MB | LINKS

Just as Donna Angelle’s career as a zydeco musician was taking off with nightly gigs that kept her hopping between her home state of Louisiana and Alabama, New Mexico, Texas, and back again, she suffered a long period of downtime thanks to a serious auto crash. The multi-instrumentalist, who was born in St. Martin Parish as Donna Charles, had already begun making a name for herself as a bass player. Her choice of instrument was considered unusual for the leader of a zydeco band, as was her gender, since a bandleader in the genre would normally be a male accordionist. When she finally bounced back from the accident, the determined bandleader put out a few recordings and opened for acts that included Beau Jocque, Denise LaSalle, Latimore, and Chubby Carrier.

1. I’m Just A Country Girl (4:06)
2. Zydeco Ride (3:04)
3. Chicken In My Yard (3:57)
4. Clean Up Woman (4:35)
5. Everybody (4:11)
6. I Want You (3:20)
7. Groove Me (4:11)
8. Bye Bye, Baby (3:43)
9. Daddy, Daddy (4:10)
10. Satan We Gonna Tear Your Kingdom Down (Gospel) (4:41)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *